Answering some questions

I’ve gotten lots of questions about this year from my family and friends. What is food justice? What is living simply? How are you going to afford to eat? Can you do anything fun while you’re doing this thing? Why does it feel like you’re going to jail?

All totally valid questions and I can say right now that a lot of my answers to these questions are that I don’t know. I can regurgitate the definitions and information that I’ve read on fliers but to be totally honest, I just don’t really know. I know this is super frustrating for some of the people that love me and want to be sure I’m safe and not starving, but when it boils down to it, not knowing is half the fun for me. I’ve never had a job in the field of food justice so right now I’m in that “0-1 years experience” bracket. If it wasn’t for the grace of the church, my resume would be easily looked over due to its noticeable shortage of unpaid internships. I’ve never committed to a life of simple living, so I don’t really know how much is too much. I kinda doubt I’ll be eating Chipotle as often as the average 23 year old. (Yes, that is disappointing to me. It may possibly be the most difficult part of this year.) But I know that it is an adventure that I want to have. I’ve always been more of a hands-on learner and I feel confident about my ability to handle this year, even if I don’t really know what I’m getting myself into.

So for all my concerned relatives that support me unconditionally but still don’t understand what the hell I’m doing or why I would want to do it, don’t worry. We’re pretty much in the same boat. Just hang in there, keep reading my blog, and well see where we end up. I will definitely dedicate some blog posts to explaining the details of my year, but for right now I really need to finish packing.

Leave a Reply

