Fundraising, Reading, and Preparing!

Hello All! Thanks for taking the time to read what I have to say. I’d like to take a minute to share with you what my life is like pre-YAVing.

I am currently living in Beverly, Massachusetts (in my opinion, a very sleepy town about 45 minutes outside of Boston) renting a room with three other people. One of my roommates is moving out August 1st and I’ll be headed out August 18th. Needless to say, my house is buzzing with “next-step” energy. I must admit, I kind of like the timing of it. I feel like my roommates move is helping me mentally prepare for the changes I’m about to experience. So while I’m starting to put things in piles to decide what comes with me, what goes in storage, and what will be donated (like my heaping pile of craft supplies) I can’t help but get more and more excited for this new experience. On top of moving, there are about a hundred other things I need to take care of between now and mid-August. Truth be told, I’m pretty much the picture perfect image of procrastination, so I’m trying very hard to stay on top of everything.

Of course, the biggest thing I am dealing with right now is Fundraising.  When I was first told I needed to raise $3,000 I wasn’t too worried. It didn’t seem like an overwhelming goal and I was pretty confident I would get it taken care of. Now that I am 22 days past my first deadline ($1,500 by July 1st) and still 2/3 shy of what I should have by now, I am starting to get a little worried. Maybe I trust God a little too much when I should be working a little harder. I do realize that thousand dollar gifts don’t fall from the sky but I still believe that it will get taken care of. That being said, I’ll update some more on my fundraising experience as time goes on. I realize that my ability to spend this year without an income is 100% owed to my sponsors and I am so deeply thankful for the people that have already made donations as well as the people that I know will.

Another large part of my preparation is my summer reading- which makes me feel like I’m in 8th grade again and I LOVE IT! I realize I am probably the only kid that ever enjoyed summer reading, but I can’t wait to meet my housemates and discuss the books we’re reading. Currently I’m working on “The Irresistible Revolution: Living as an Ordinary Radical” by Shane Claiborne. I’m only one chapter in, so I can’t really tell you too much yet. Still, I love to read, and even more, I love to discuss a good book with others. ESPECIALLY if they disagree with me! By sharing things like our understanding of books, I think we get to know each other much better. It’s a shared experience that affects us all so differently. What’s not to love about that?

Other than fundraising, reading, and piling my life away, I’m spending my summer working at Essex County Club in Manchester as a waitress with a pretty awesome staff and laying on the beach as much as I possibly can. Truth be told, I hate the winter, the snow, and everything about cold weather. I’m hoping that if I soak up enough sun I might be able to will the winter away. It’s worth a shot, right?

Thanks for your time! Please keep following my blog. I assure you it will get more interesting as we go!

Leave a Reply

